Recovery

Blizzards for Boobs

Preach it little boy! One of the constant things that I have struggled with in my recovery is tasting foods and knowing whether I like them because of their taste, their nutritional information, or because I’m “supposed” to like them. A lot of the time, I find myself eating fear foods and not knowing whether I like them because I enjoy the challenge or because I enjoy the taste. The more I challenge my fear foods, the more I notice what foods I genuinely like and dislike. I still have a very long way to go and find myself eating things and not “tasting” them, but progress is good. Dairy Queen blizzards, I have recently found, are a fear food that I enjoy eating. To challenge my  problem that I have at a lot of restaurants of always ordering the same thing, I am going to try and have every single flavor of blizzard by the end of the year. A lot of girls do similar challenges with BJ pints, but honestly, I’d take Dairy Queen blizzards over BJs! (sorry!) So here is my review of the first three blizzards that I have crossed off the list:

Screen shot 2015-07-26 at 3.59.14 PM

Reese’s:

This was the blizzard where I decided to start my challenge. I had had this flavor before, and it is what I have been ordering recently when we’ve gone to Dairy Queen. I love the way that the peanut butter cups get a little crumbled up, but there are still fairly large chunks of recognizable pb cups inside. I want to try this flavor with chocolate ice cream instead of the normal vanilla because I feel like that might step it up a notch! This is a classic flavor that always seems to get the job done. 8/10.

Screen shot 2015-07-26 at 3.58.46 PM

Jurassic Smash:

This blizzard is described as “peanut butter cookies smashed together with chocolate chip cookie dough”. Since it is a limited-time flavor, I figured I should have it sooner rather than later. I had heard great reviews of this on Instagram, but was unfortunately, a bit disappointed. The PB flavor was virtually nonexistent. I’m not a huge fan of cookie dough in general though, so that might have to do with some of it. I felt that it was lacking and rather bland. 5/10.

Screen shot 2015-07-26 at 3.48.21 PMOreo Cheesequake:

This is my most recent blizzard, and let me tell you, I was BLOWN away! I am not a huge cheesecake person, but I had wanted a more substantial flavor, so I thought I’d tackle this bad boy. The ratio of oreos to cheesecake was fabulous (great job rather attractive college boy DQ employee!). This flavor stunned me and provided a great variety of chew and crunch. It was sweet, but it didn’t leave me feeling as if I were in a sugar coma. 10/10.Screen shot 2015-07-26 at 4.10.21 PM

Do you ever struggle with tasting your food?

I challenge everyone to try to work towards finding a fear food or “off limits” food that they genuinely enjoy and then try to incorporate it more frequently in their diet (:

15 thoughts on “Blizzards for Boobs

  1. So proud of you for challenging yourself with something you enjoy! My eating disorder often disorders my thoughts too so I have a hard time telling if I actually like the food or not. I love DQ blizzards too! My favorites are both seasonal flavors – the pumpkin pie and red velvet cake!

    Like

  2. I feel the same way about DQ vs pints. I love the caramel truffle and the s’mores. S’more is seasonal too but when its out I eat them at least weekly. Anyway, this is a great point- I lately have been trying things that were off limits but that I thought would be amazing, and it is so weird when they are just, like, meh. But I think I should probably not write them off completely because I think my tastes are still a bit stunted.

    Like

    1. Everyone keeps telling me to try the smores and I am waiting for it to come into the stores! (lol, like my rhyme there?!?) Yes, I put so many foods as “off limits” and then I get all excited and realize “oh wait, I don’t really like this food.” It’s so nice to be at the point where I can have this feeling and distinguish whether it is MY truth thought or my eating disorder’s.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This is a great challenge! I should do something similiar. I love ice cream and just recently started eating foods I LOVE rather than their nutritional info.

    Like

    1. That is such an awesome step in recovery! It took me so long to realize whether or not I actually enjoy the taste of my foods. I feel like so many people label food as good/bad according to its nutritional info and not for its taste!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Omgosh do you have a Culvers by you?? This post makes me think of their “concrete mixers” and they concoct anything you want with it. I used to love kitkat and marshmallow and would get it when I went to IL bc they didn’t have them in FL but since they got one down by me I’ve been craving (and crying) over it. I am so going to work up to that. I’m not big on ice cream but that combo is 💗 haha. Side note: my sis used to work at DQ for her HS joband she says you can secretly order any combo you want if they have the Grahams and marshmallow fluff at the store even though it’s not “on the menu” you can order it 😉 she said get it with Reese’s bits too and it’s extra delish

    Like

    1. Oh my gosh thank you for the suggestions! I never knew that they had the ingredients all year! I mean it’s not like it’s that hard for them to keep a few graham crackers around! We do not have culvers, but we always go when we visit family in the midwest! I love love love their frozen custard and am so excited to finally great myself to some again when we visit them next month!

      Like

  5. This is such an amazing challenge for you to do in your recovery and I’m so proud of you! I can’t wait to hear how you get on with the rest of the flavours! Enjoy! Xox

    Like

Leave a Reply

