link love

Link Love – Music & Recovery

Screen shot 2015-08-30 at 3.12.50 PM

Hey everyone! I haven’t shared some of my recent favorite links in a while, so I figured today would be a great day to share them with you. I have some amazing links (especially recovery/health related) this time, so be sure to check them out!

Screen shot 2015-08-30 at 3.07.04 PM

Why Looking Fit Does Not Equal Being Fit – Life With Niki – I read this post by Niki and immediately bookmarked it. Niki points out the fact that no where in the definition of “fit” does it mention anything about physical appearance. On my senior backpacking trip, I definitely saw real-world examples of this. Some kids, whose appearances weren’t stereotypically “fit” were able to charge up the mountain easily. While others who looked “fit” struggled the whole time.

Coping Under The Dressing Room Lights – Journey of a Rose – Bethany shares some amazing advice in this post regarding how to tackle dressing rooms with eating disorders/body image problems. I have been avoiding clothes shopping, but recently went for back to school necessities and these tips helped tremendously.

Why I Emotionally Eat – Fuel for Freedom – I have always advocated for the idea that food isn’t just fuel, it’s also a big part of our culture and builds a sense of community. This article hits the nail on the head and is a great reminder for someone who has a history of dieting or eating disorders.

A PSA About Eating Disorders – Better with Sprinkles – Sam’s posts are featured very recently on link love posts! This post is jam-packed with insight regarding pseudo-recovery, weight restoration, “healthy” bmis, and more without being too wordy.

Screen shot 2015-08-30 at 3.07.49 PM

Good For You – Selena Gomez – This song is super catchy and it relaxes me a ton. I don’t really like Selena’s music in general (just a personal preference! She seems like a great person!), but this song is amazing.

Sippy Cup – Melanie Martinez – Okay, my sister likes to make fun of me because I like songs that sound sexual. Now the secret’s out! I don’t think it sounds “sexual”, I just love whiny/nasally voices with moaning sounds. Anyway, I’m done elaborating. I just discovered Melanie’s music and love her!

Happy Little Pill – Troye Sivan – This song makes me sleepy, in a good way! I love Troye’s calming voice. This is a great choice if you want some background music to relax to.

What kind of music is your favorite? Any new blogs I should read?

6 thoughts on “Link Love – Music & Recovery

  1. Right now, I really am enjoying just listening to the radio and the new(ish) pop songs out! Sadly I haven’t had much time to catch up on blogs, so I can’t be much help their!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for sharing my post! I’m glad you liked it. I actually read Sam’s “PSA about Eating Disorders” the other day and found it so honest. She’s a great one for a real perspective on eating disorder recovery. Like someone else said, Miss Skinny Genes is fantastic in that area as well. If you’re into podcasts, check out Finding Our Hunger too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

