Uncategorized

Personal Update

Screen shot 2015-09-28 at 7.58.15 AMUnfortunately around the middle of August, my recovery went downhill and with that went all motivation for anything that I previously enjoyed doing, including writing for my blog. Now that my routine with school and other life stuff has calmed down a bit, I am excited to come out with some new content for you all! Well anywhooo, I have had quite a bit happen since I last updated you all! Thanks to everyone who filled out my blog survey (see last post). I didn’t know that so many of you were interested in my person life!

Screen shot 2015-09-27 at 8.12.00 PMSocial Life: That’s me (far right) at a friend’s barn last weekend. This is my first “party” that I’ve been to and I am proud of myself for stepping out of my comfort zone. Don’t worry, I was 100% safe, sober, and I left at 11. Normally I say no to these kinds of things so it felt really really weird to be doing such “normal teenager stuff”. Other than that one night however, I haven’t been doing a ton socially. I’ve been very busy with other stuff mentioned below and I have been feeling like isolating myself. It’s definitely something I want to work on!

Screen shot 2015-09-27 at 8.21.18 PMFamily Life:

These past few weeks have been spent doing a lot of family activities. My younger sister (bottom row, second to left) got confirmed! We live in a different state from the rest of my family, so my mom’s 3 siblings, their spouses, and one of my cousins (the rest had to stay at college) came to visit. I don’t see them very much so it was nice to catch up! Unfortunately, the Friday before her confirmation my grandmother passed away. She had been ill for a while with lung problems and was on hospice, so we knew this was coming. It was still rather shocking, especially considering the fact that all of my extended family was already out visiting us. So after school on Tuesday, my dad flew me and my sister back to visit them (my mom left earlier). It was very sad to think that she is no longer here on this Earth. I don’t know if I believe in God/Heaven yet. My grandma used to call me her “Miss America” and for some reason that has been staying very close to my heart as I’ve been thinking about her these past few days.

School Life:

I am taking the most challenging course load I ever have this year. So far, school has gone well although I am extremely nervous for AP Chemistry. I honestly have no clue what the heck is going on in that class! As my intake suffered recently, my concentration went downhill as well. That has made school more challenging but is just another reason to recover!

Screen shot 2015-09-27 at 8.13.13 PM

Volunteering:

I spend 2 hours most Saturdays volunteering at a local children’s museum. Last weekend, I got invited to their annual gala where I received an award for my work! I am so so so so grateful for that recognition. I don’t want to sound whiny, but I never have really felt appreciated for my hard work. When I did sports, I wasn’t ever an “important player”. I’m not the top of my class. I’m not an amazing artist or anything. You get my drift. Volunteering makes me feel amazing because I feel like I have a purpose in this world, and would HIGHLY recommend anyone who is in recovery to take up volunteering. It keeps me busy and prevents me from spending time doing harmful behaviors.

What are you looking forward to? What class was the hardest for you that you’ve taken?

10 thoughts on “Personal Update

  1. I’m sorry your recovery is lagging but am happy you are living such a full life! I will pray for your family with the loss of your grandmother. AP chem is really hard! There is just so much information to know and almost impossible to know it all. I took the position that I cannot learn everything and I had to accept that. After you do that, it’s really liberating!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. One of the tough things about relapsing or backsliding is that when you then go to get back on track, it can make concentration even harder for a little while. But in the long term, it eventually gets better and you can really focus again. I remember when I first got ill and learned that my brain had actually shrunk, which terrified me. It took a while but the food eventually caught back up to the gray matter. Anyway, I took a lot of hard classes in college-all kinds of calculus, physics, and such in engineering-but the hardest was actually botany! So much to memorize! Hang in there girl, keep fighting.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s so good to have you back blogging! I missed you, but I’m sorry that you were going through a hard time. I hope things are getting better for you know, it kind of sounds like things are getting a bit better for you from this blog post. Take good care of yourself! Hugs xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

