Recovery · Uncategorized

Recovery Roadmap

I am ready to get back on track. I do not need to, but I want to. Simply eating to maintain “enough” weight is not the same as being in recovery. I am ready to be an active participant and advocate for my own recovery. I have done it before and I am ready to do it again. In order to keep myself on track, I’m going to list some tools that have worked in the past. It’s okay for me to not do it all on my own. Share with me: what tools help you get back on track when you see yourself going in an unhealthy direction?

  1. Journalling – my dietician recently introduced me to bullet journ
    screen-shot-2016-11-11-at-10-33-33-pm
    One of my favorite pieces of mine (:

    alling. I have been using mine as a hybrid planner/journal/sketchbook/list-maker and love it. It’s nice to have something that I create and can be creative with. Instagram is also kind of like a journal for me. My perfectionist mind tends to take over whenever I try traditional journalling, so these methods seem to be more helpful for me.

  2. Collaging – art is very therapeutic for me. I brought my collage stuff back with me to
    college after fall break and I opened it up for the first time last weekend. So glad I did, it is a huge stress reliever for me. There are so many different forms of art, so I recommend trying what works for you!
  3. Being honest with my feelings – this is a toughie for me. I have a hard time being honest with how I am doing, especially with my family. But bottling up my emotions and putting on my “happy mask” is never a good long-term solution. I am making it a goal to be more open with my family.
  4. SOCIALIZING – this is so hard for me but probably the #1 thing for me. I like to isolate, however I always feel better after socializing than if I would have spent the whole day bottled up in my room, stuck with my thoughts. Socializing is hard right now because I don’t really have a friend group or even “friends”, more so acquaintances. I am trying to take the little things and show myself some compassion. Making friends is not easy and I just moved here in August. It’s okay to not be that close with anyone yet.
  5. Filling up the fridge – It is a lot easier for me to restrict when “oh crap, there’s no food here!” Now that I am in my own room, I have a mini fridge all to myself so I am able to keep some food in store. I am going to make it a goal to go grocery shopping once a week so that I don’t find myself “conveniently out of food”
  6. Screen Shot 2016-11-11 at 10.37.41 PM.png
    A picture from my meditation retreat last spring!

    Meditation – I used to go to a meditation center weekly back at home. I am not a religious person, however I consider myself to be very spiritual. I don’t have access to a center near my school but I am going to try to take more mindful moments, even if they aren’t formal sittings.

  7. Breathing exercises – In treatment, biofeedback was a very important tool for me. I don’t have a biofeedback program to do outside of that environment, but doing breath work and focusing on my physiologic body is immensely helpful in “bringing me down” a notch when my anxiety peaks.
  8. Surrounding myself with healthy media – I cannot spend my free time watching iifym “what I eat in a day” videos and maintain my recovery. Researching health articles is not something that I need to be filling my mind with at the moment. To replace those videos, I’ve been watching Ted Talks at night and trying to weed out the accounts that I follow that tend to trigger me.
  9. SHOWING UP – I finally decided that I am going to start seeing a therapist while in college. I spent the first few months determined to “do it on my own” because “I don’t have a problem”. But I’ve come to terms with the fact that okay, even if I “don’t have a problem”, therapy has been helpful in the past and plenty of people see therapists who are not clinically ill.
5 thoughts on “Recovery Roadmap

  1. “Simply eating to maintain “enough” weight is not the same as being in recovery. ” love this. and you are so right. recovery is far more than just the weight or the food. it sounds like you really have a great plan for yourself, and have a ton of self-awareness. proud of you that you know where to draw your boundaries, like staying away from “health and social media.” I was the same way when I was recovering; i loved researching diets and work outs and in the end, these things never positively supported my recovery. keep on fighting girl!

    Like

Leave a Reply

