Uncategorized

Thanksgiving Recap

This past week has been full of ups and downs, however it went just about as perfectly as it could have. My mom, dad and sister flew to St. Louis to see my in college for my last day of classes on Tuesday. We spent Wednesday at the zoo and going to see the new

screen-shot-2016-11-27-at-10-34-25-pm
My dorm room featuring me, my mom, and my sister!

Disney Moana movie! Thursday, we woke up and drove 3 hours to my cousins’ house. We had our Thanksgiving meal around 1, and the meal felt so much more natural than I was expecting. No one made any food comments to me. Of course there were some triggering statements, but I was able to block ED from getting the best of me by reminding myself that what is healthy for me may not be what is healthy for my aunt or cousin or sister. I met my meal plan exchanges with a plate of veggies, spinach dip, turkey, and sweet bread, however I found myself feeling embarrassed by choosing the “safe”est foods from the table. I had planned on having a slice of pumpkin pie, however I opted for my backup snack that I had packed instead. I felt disappointed in my choices. At the same time, I am trying to be gentle with myself because this Thanksgiving was lightyears better compared to last year’s. There is still pumpkin pie in this world. I can and will meet my challenge.

Thursday and Friday were spent at my cousins’ house playing board games, napping, chatting for hours, and going out for meals. The last time I was this sedentary (outside of treatment) was probably when I had pneumonia in 5th grade. It was a challenge, however being around family members who were being just as inactive as me made me feel a lot better. There is a time and place for everything. Holiday weekends are a time and place for me to be “lazy” and enjoy relaxing time with my family.

screen-shot-2016-11-27-at-10-43-59-pmSaturday, we drove back to St. Louis and met with my therapist for a family session. The session itself was uncomfortable, but I left feeling like there was a greater sense of trust between my parents and I. We ended the evening by going to iHOP and to the Blue’s hockey game. It was a perfect end to a perfectly imperfect holiday weekend.

I dropped my family back at the airport this morning and then went back to my dorm room. On my way back, I went grocery shopping and found that my Whole Foods is carrying the most of the new flavors of Halo Top. Here’s to a good start to the week.

How was your holiday weekend?

What is your favorite sport to watch?

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Recap

  1. I’m so proud of you! Sounds like you had an excellent Thanksgiving! I saw Moana too and it was such a cute movie!

    As a gymnast, I love watching gymnastics but that is totally a bias opinion. I also really love to watch synchronized diving!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

